Annual Meeting Highlights

The Valley Council for Health and Human Services (VCHHS) held its Annual  Meeting & Community Awards Presentation on December 1, 2020, at 8:30 A.M.  Each December, the Valley Council holds an Annual Meeting featuring a Keynote Presentation, Community Awards Presentation, and, Year in Reviews from the Chair & Committee’s and Task Forces. 

Guest Speaker: Monique Price-Taylor, is a strategic innovator with over fifteen years of experience in the non-profit sector in program management, youth development, capacity building, and training and technical assistance.

As program manager for the New England Region with The Corporation for Supportive Housing (CSH), Mrs. Taylor manages a diverse portfolio of training and technical assistance clients for supportive housing providers in the New England region. She is instrumental in advancing race equitable solutions through operationalizing the CT Race Equity Framework for Housing and Homelessness stakeholders in Connecticut.  She was recently elected to serve as co-chair for the Connecticut Balance of State (CTBOS).  Mrs. Taylor is often referred to as an alchemist due to her knowledge and capacity to influence others in project management, retention, implementation and program evaluation.

Mrs. Taylor has devoted most of her career to empowering the lives of young people in Connecticut. She has served as a consultant with the Obama Foundation’s Hartford Community Leadership Corps program. As a servant leader, she currently serves as the co-chair for The CT Race Equity Council for Leadership Greater Hartford. Mrs. Taylor has also served as a Board member of Epsilon Omicron Omegas Foundation for Excellence (FEO) where she served three years as the financial secretary.

Mrs. Taylor holds a master’s degree in counseling with a specialization of student development in higher education from Central Connecticut State University and a B.S. degree in communication from Eastern Connecticut State University. She lives by the motto “Maximizing your minutes, by optimizing your gifts.”

Community Awards Presentation

The Valley Council presents three community awards at its Annual Meeting each year.

The Program or Agency of the Year Award honors a nonprofit agency or program whose services have made a significant and lasting contribution to the health and wellbeing of lower Naugatuck Valley residents. This Award was presented to: Griffin Health

The Lewis Savitsky Staff Excellence Award, named in honor of a long-time employee of the Valley United Way) recognizes extraordinary service as an employee in the nonprofit community. This Award was presented to: Joan Kayser.

The Richard O. Belden Community Service Award celebrates late State Representative Richard Belden’s legacy of community involvement by honoring an individual or organization whose efforts have made a significant contribution to improving quality of life in the Valley.  This Award was presented to:  Karen Bentlage

Susan Agamy, Chair and President of Spooner House, Inc. & David Morgan, Vice Chair and President of TEAM Inc,  presented awards honoring Griffin Health, Joan Kayser and Karen Bentlage.   Susan Agamy was honored to receive the Outgoing Chair Award.

The Honorable Jim Himes, 4th Congressional District recognized the award recipients and presented each with a Certificate of Special Recognition.

A special Thank you to the Valley United Way and Valley Community Foundation for your continued support each and every year!